Public Media for Central Pennsylvania
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Municipal Primary Election Results




Democrats have won all three open seats on the state Supreme Court. The victory secures them a majority on the high court for at least a decade. The winners in yesterday's election are Philadelphia Judge Kevin Dougherty and Superior Court judges David Wecht and Christine Donohue of Allegheny County.

Democrat Alice Dubow was elected judge of the Superior court over Republican Emil Giordano.

For judge of the Commonwealth Court, Democrat Michael Wojcik won over Republican Paul Lalley.


In the special election to replace Judge Bradley Lunsford, Democrat Katie Oliver won out over Republican Ron McGlaughlin.

In the Centre County Commissioners race, Democrat Mark Higgins will be replacing Republican incumbent Chris Exarchos on the board. Democrat Mike Pipe and Republican Steve Dershem will retain their seats.

Winners of other races:

Bryan Sampsel - Republican

Recorder of Deeds
Joseph Davidson - Republican

Register of Wills
Christine Millinder - Republican

Debra Immel - Democrat                

Centre County Controller
Charles Witmer - Republican            

Richard Fornicola - Republican                                                                  

Centre County Coroner
Scott Sayers - Democrat

State College Borough Council
Jesse Barlow – Democrat
David Brown – Democrat
Catherine Dauler - D/R
Janet Engeman – Democrat

State College Area School Board
Laurel Zydney - R/D
Amy Bader - R/D
Daniel Duffy - R/D
Gretchen Brandt - R/D
Amber Concepcion - R/D

College Township Supervisors
D. Richard Francke – Republican
Steven Lyncha – Republican
Carla Stilson - Democrat

Ferguson Township Supervisors
Ward 1
Laura Dininni – Democrat

Ward 2
Peter Buckland – Democrat

Ward 3
Colleen Unroe - Democrat

Harris Township Supervisors
6 year term:
Dennis Hameister – Democrat
Franklin Harden – Republican

4 year term:
Bruce Lord – Democrat

Bellefonte Area Board of School Directors
Bob LumleySapanski – R and D
Hope Boylston – R and D
Daniel Miltenberger – R and D
Kimberly Hearn – R and D
Rob Pacella - R

Bellefonte Borough Council
Ward 1
Douglas Johnson – Democrat

Ward 2
Renee Brown - Republican

Ward 3
Joanne Tosti-Vasey – Democrat


Mayor Of Altoona
Matthew Pacifico - Republican