Public Media for Central Pennsylvania
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Radiohead Guitarist Ed O'Brien Announces First Solo Album, Shares New Song

After releasing the ambient "Santa Teresa" last October and "Brasil" in December, Radiohead's Ed O'Brien has returned with not only a new single but also the announcement of a new album. Earth comes out April 17 via Capitol Records under the name EOB. O'Brien sings and plays the majority of instruments, but the album also features an impressive cast of musicians, including Radiohead's Colin Greenwood, Portishead's Adrian Utley, Wilco's Glenn Kotche, drummer Omar Hakim, bassist Nathan East, Laura Marling, Flood, Catherine Marks and others.

Where the acoustic-driven "Brasil" morphed into pulsing electronics, "Shangri-La" shimmies with elastic Arthur Russell-ian movement before going full-on Brit-pop guitar, complete with handclaps.

Copyright 2021 NPR. To see more, visit

Listen to the Viking's Choice playlist, subscribe to the newsletter.