WPSU http://radio.wpsu.org en How A Tiny Fly's Ears Could Help You Hear Better http://radio.wpsu.org/post/how-tiny-flys-ears-could-help-you-hear-better <em>Ormia ochracea</em> is not a very likeable creature, even by fly standards.<p>This parasitic fly likes to leave its larvae on the backs of crickets. The larvae burrow inside the cricket and then proceed to eat the cricket alive.<p>But humans who have struggled with hearing loss might soon be thankful for one at least small part of this fly – its ears.<p><em>Ormia ochracea</em> has developed very specialized ears that let it locate crickets by following the sound of their chirp. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 18:05:00 +0000 Kara Manke 6245 at http://radio.wpsu.org How A Tiny Fly's Ears Could Help You Hear Better Despite Disability, One Mountain Climber Reflects On His Advantages http://radio.wpsu.org/post/despite-disability-one-mountain-climber-reflects-his-advantages Spencer West was born with a genetic disorder that led to both his legs being amputated. West tells host Michel Martin about how he climbed Mount Kilimanjaro using just his hands and arms. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 18:03:00 +0000 editor 6247 at http://radio.wpsu.org What's Better Than A Total Eclipse Of The Sun? Check This http://radio.wpsu.org/post/whats-better-total-eclipse-sun-check <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OyZoD7BRTtg</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 17:55:00 +0000 Robert Krulwich 6246 at http://radio.wpsu.org What's Better Than A Total Eclipse Of The Sun? Check This Federal Court Throws Out Health Care Subsidies In 36 States http://radio.wpsu.org/post/federal-court-throws-out-health-care-subsidies-36-states Julie Rovner of Kaiser Health News explains a federal appeals court ruling Tuesday that overturns subsidies provided to low- and middle-income people in states that use the federal health exchanges. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 17:38:00 +0000 editor 6243 at http://radio.wpsu.org Some Food Companies Are Quietly Dumping GMO Ingredients http://radio.wpsu.org/post/some-food-companies-are-quietly-dumping-gmo-ingredients A tour of the Ben & Jerry's factory in Waterbury, Vt., includes a stop at the "Flavor Graveyard," where ice cream combinations that didn't make the cut are put to rest under the shade of big trees.<p>One recently deceased flavor has yet to be memorialized there: Coffee Heath Bar Crunch, one of the company's best-sellers. Ben & Jerry's CEO <a href="http://www.benjerry.com/about-us/how-were-structured#4timeline">Jostein Solheim </a>says the company had to remove the key ingredient, Heath bars made by Hershey, and rework the flavor. Its replacement is called Coffee Toffee Bar Crunch. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 17:10:26 +0000 Jane Lindholm 6242 at http://radio.wpsu.org Some Food Companies Are Quietly Dumping GMO Ingredients FAA Prohibits U.S. Airlines From Flying To Tel Aviv http://radio.wpsu.org/post/faa-prohibits-us-airlines-flying-tel-aviv The Federal Aviation Administration has issued a 24-hour ban on flights to and from the Tel Aviv airport.<p>"The notice was issued in response to a rocket strike which landed approximately one mile from Ben Gurion International Airport on the morning of July 22, 2014," the FAA said in a statement.<p><a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/07/22/333908274/as-kerry-tries-for-ceasefire-attacks-continue-in-gaza">As we reported earlier</a>, some American carriers had already started canceling flights to and from Israel. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 16:57:13 +0000 editor 6241 at http://radio.wpsu.org FAA Prohibits U.S. Airlines From Flying To Tel Aviv Rituals That Work And Why http://radio.wpsu.org/post/rituals-work-and-why <ul><p><li>Ancient Egyptians <a href="http://www.washingtonpost.com/news/morning-mix/wp/2014/05/02/the-surprisingly-simple-way-egyptians-moved-massive-pyramid-stones-without-modern-technology/">transport a large statue by sledge</a>, headed by a person who pours water from a vessel.</li><p><li>Before stepping onto the pitch, <a href="http://www.npr.org/2014/06/22/324480094/pre-game-rituals-give-world-cup-players-a-measure-of-control">a soccer player ties and reties his shoelaces</a> for good luck.</li><p><li>In Indonesia, a Kantu' farmer <a href="http://aeon.co/magazine/world-views/is-the-most Tue, 22 Jul 2014 16:41:01 +0000 Tania Lombrozo 6240 at http://radio.wpsu.org Rituals That Work And Why America's Youth Orchestra Hits The Road — This Time, Playing For U.S. http://radio.wpsu.org/post/americas-youth-orchestra-hits-road-time-playing-us <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E7AvzsibovU</p><p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=g9k4SqNnb9A</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 16:39:54 +0000 Anastasia Tsioulcas 6239 at http://radio.wpsu.org America's Youth Orchestra Hits The Road — This Time, Playing For U.S. Appeals Court Strikes Down Subsidies In Federal Health Exchange http://radio.wpsu.org/post/appeals-court-strikes-down-subsidies-federal-health-exchange A three-judge panel at the U.S. Appeals Court for the D.C. Circuit threw the fate of an important part of the Affordable Care Act into doubt Tuesday.<p>In a 2-1 decision, the court ruled that the Internal Revenue Service lacked the authority to allow subsidies to be provided in exchanges not run by the states. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 16:39:38 +0000 editor 6238 at http://radio.wpsu.org What 'The Golden Girls' Taught Us About AIDS http://radio.wpsu.org/post/what-golden-girls-taught-us-about-aids <p>http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HRoKiwmgFkw</p> Tue, 22 Jul 2014 16:32:40 +0000 BARBARA FLETCHER 6236 at http://radio.wpsu.org What 'The Golden Girls' Taught Us About AIDS London Through The Eyes Of Dickens In 'The Victorian City' http://radio.wpsu.org/post/london-through-eyes-dickens-victorian-city In September 1777, Samuel Johnson declared to his friend James Boswell, "When a man is tired of London, he is tired of life."<p>Johnson actually was referring to his hectic social calendar, but he did have a point. The city he was discussing was on course to become the largest metropolis the world had ever seen. In 1800, London was home to 1 million residents. By 1911 that number had grown to a staggering 7 million: a population far greater than Paris, Berlin, St. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 16:32:32 +0000 editor 6237 at http://radio.wpsu.org London Through The Eyes Of Dickens In 'The Victorian City' 'Audience Measurement': How Networks And Critics Are Wrestling With Numbers http://radio.wpsu.org/post/audience-measurement-how-networks-and-critics-are-wrestling-numbers If the Television Critics Association press tour of 2014, wrapping up Tuesday and Wednesday with presentations from PBS, has had a catchphrase, it's "audience measurement."<p>Critics heard an extended presentation from Nielsen on the very first day of tour about the company's plans to begin measuring viewership on mobile devices and, more generally, about its scramble to keep up – catch up, really – with the way television works now. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 16:32:12 +0000 Linda Holmes 6235 at http://radio.wpsu.org 'Audience Measurement': How Networks And Critics Are Wrestling With Numbers Ryan Adams, Live In Concert: Newport Folk Festival 2014 http://radio.wpsu.org/post/ryan-adams-live-concert-newport-folk-festival-2014 Tue, 22 Jul 2014 16:31:54 +0000 Stephen Thompson 6234 at http://radio.wpsu.org When It Comes To Other People's Kids, Should Parents Intervene? http://radio.wpsu.org/post/when-it-comes-other-peoples-kids-should-parents-intervene A South Carolina mother was jailed on charges of child neglect because her 9-year-old daughter was found playing at a park by herself. Should she have been punished? A panel of parents weigh in. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 16:07:00 +0000 editor 6233 at http://radio.wpsu.org Tweeting From A Conflict Zone: Does It Help Or Hurt News Reporting? http://radio.wpsu.org/post/tweeting-conflict-zone-does-it-help-or-hurt-news-reporting As Gaza, Ukraine and Syria trend on Twitter, has social media changed the way conflicts are covered? Host Michel Martin finds out from reporter Anne Barnard and Peter Bouckaert of Human Rights Watch. Tue, 22 Jul 2014 16:07:00 +0000 editor 6232 at http://radio.wpsu.org